• Frosty1
    I've been using this unit for while now, having had the first one replaced. It's dialled in fairly nice, a bit of tweaking to go but very pleased with the overall performance. One thing I've noticed (which was the same with the first device) is I get a hotspot in the centre of the crucible - there is a tunnel of material that gets more vaped than the rest. Now the ABV comes out pretty good, it gets 95%+ vaped and the hotspot never burns the material but it does occasionally fall out in a small lump! The issue is the material doesn't get an even vaping because of this - dark in the middle and light around the outside.

I've updated to the latest firmware, adjusted the grind, packing, stem height and so on but nothing gets rid of it. As I said the performance is good so just wondering if anyone else gets this and whether I should be concerned?

Cheers.
  • metalmancpa
    I'm new to the MV1, and I do notice the herb does not get baked evenly. I tend to find similar results, and sometimes a few green specs even after I think the crucible is spent. I would think best results would be to stir after maybe the 3rd hit, but not sure if I'll do that or not.
  • MustB

Presuming you've tried a different crucible and lid I'm wondering what heat level you're using?

I'm using 4 at the moment, with the stem between 1/4 and 1/2 way extended, slow draw at first and then a little harder tug at the end (a little like pulling a bong), give it a stir when vapour starts dropping off and then repeat till done (maybe get one more half decent draw at this point as the material is mostly spent). The ABV comes out dark brown when I'm done. No hotspots or material clumping together.

Maybe the material you're currently using is having an effect?
  • Rockytdogg
    If you pack it full so that the very top edge of the material is touching the crucible lid, that thin layer often won’t turn brown... give it a quick stir and hit it again if it bothers you.
  • Gonzo